« PDF Search Engine - Search Ebooks Online | Main | Google wants to own your online identity »

August 29, 2011

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Katharine Widdows

I hadn't heard of this before Phil, thanks for flagging it up. It sounds pretty creepy. Presumably it is only pulling back publicly posted info - and if your account is fairly well locked down people won't be able to find your stuff?

Phil Bradley

Katherine - no, it's not publicly available stuff - it's stuff that's available for your friends to see. Which in theory shouldn't be a problem, but in practice maybe - particularly since actually finding the original post and deleting it will be much harder than it being found by a friend in the first place!

Katharine Widdows

Thanks very much for the reply Phil. I like facebook less and less all the time - I just logged in to discover that while I wasn't looking they made it possible for other people to tag me in locations (even though the mobile locations thing has been discontinued). So I worked my way through all the new privacy settings and read the info and I'm really not comfortable with it - I think I'm going to remove a lot of the content from my account and just leave a fairly empty placeholder there. It's a shame, because I used to feel fairly in control of it, but this whole idea of share, share, share and then let other people share it too just makes me nervous.

The comments to this entry are closed.

GoogleAdsense

GoogleAdsense

GoogleAdsense

My Photo

Subscribe!

  • Subscribe!
    Add to any service

My Flickr photographs

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from Phil Bradley. Make your own badge here.